2020 Scholarships

Legacy West Chapter 66
AZ & NM 2020 Scholarships


Announcing the 2020 Legacy West Chapter 66 Pioneer Scholarships – CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OUR WINNERS!

The Legacy West Chapter 66, Phoenix Thunderbird Club and So AZ Combined Club (SACC) awarded four $1000 scholarships this year. The winners are Ayla Patton, Amber Patton, Olivia Dow and Deborah Lesneski. Our New Mexico Club will be announcing their winners soon. And finally, the Madalyn Rollins Scholarship was awarded to ten candidates from Apache Junction High School. Congratulations to these winners, and best of luck in your college careers. Due to the ongoing Covid-19 issue, we were unable to present the checks in person. We would like to extend a heartfelt Congratulations to all our winners!

Chapter 66

AZ Chapter 66 2020 Scholarship Recipient Ayla Patton

Ayla Patton – Ayla is finishing her third year at the University of Arizona. She is studying to be an elementary school teacher. She is on the Dean’s List with an A average. Her volunteerism includes in classroom fieldwork and organizing a Readers for Life event at a local school. She has also volunteered at a spaghetti dinner night for students and families. Ayla is heavily involved with the SACC project Totes for Goods. This project collects reusable tote bags, purses, shoes and feminine hygiene products for a local domestic violence shelter.

AZ Chapter 66 2020 Scholarship Recipient Amber Patton

Amber Patton – Amber is finishing her first year at the University of Arizona in the school of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Design. Amber maintains a 3.538 grade point average. Her volunteerism includes being the editor of the Telephone Pioneers Chapter 66 cookbook, where Pioneers sent in their recipes. She has also participated with the Pioneers since she was a child including the beeping Easter egg hunt, and stuffing bears for hug a bears. Her most recent volunteering has been with Treasures 4 Teachers of Tucson which is an organization committed to getting school supplies to teacher in need. She now majors in Sustainable Built Environments.

Phoenix Thunderbird

Phoenix Thunderbird 2020 Scholarship Recipient Olivia Dow

Olivia Dow – Olivia is completing her first year at Arizona State University. She is a student at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism. She is in the Barrett Honors College and an alumni Association Medallion Scholar. Olivia volunteers her time as a photographer for the State Press. Olivia has also made the Dean’s List with a 3.85 grade point average.




Southern Arizona Combined Club

Deborah Lesneski – Deborah is finishing her first year at American Intercontinental University studying finance. Deborah has a 3.83 grade point average. Her volunteerism includes being a Girl Scout for over 10 years selling cookies, visiting the elderly, collecting clothing donations, and learning how to care for and properly dispose of the American flag. She is also the Voluntary treasurer for her Community Well, west of Tucson for approximately 30 families and over 100 acres of land. She works with all of the families to coordinate needed changes for their property including an upgrade to a well on their property. She also assists two elderly couples next to her property with grocery shopping, driving to doctor appointments, walking their dogs, minor house repairs, setting up their medicine and making sure their bills are paid. She has been working as a Respiratory Therapist in her community. She is taking courses in Finance to continue to move forward in her life and hopefully become Chief Financial Officer in her Respiratory organization.

Madlyn Rollins Bequest Scholarship
Congratulations to the 2020 winners of $1000 scholarships provided by the Madlyn Rollins bequest, through Legacy West Pioneers’ Chapter 66. These students are graduating seniors from Apache Junction High School. Madlyn Rollins was a Pioneer in Arizona, and at her passing her husband set up the bequest as an ongoing fund for students from the Apache Junction High School, Apache Junction, Arizona. Each year ten students are selected by staff at the high school. Congratulations to these winners! Arizona Chapter 66, part of Legacy West Pioneers, wishes them success in their future endeavors.

      • Isaac Tameron  – University of Southern California
      • Eriko Hendrickson – University of Arizona
      • Abraham Viscardi – Arizona State University
      • Michael Jada – Arizona State University
        “I am honored and blessed to be one of the candidates chosen from Apache Junction High School to receive your generous scholarship. Thank you for giving back to the community, and helping me succeed in college. It is going to make a huge difference and you guys truly are helping me follow my dream! Sincerely, Michael J. Jada Apache Junction High School” – Michael Jada
    • Damian Lopez – University of Southern California
    • Addison Geiger – Arizona State University
    • Robyn Vande Krol – Arizona State University
    • Haley Gale Loftis – Pacific University
    • Josie Anderson – Arizona State University
    • Brooke Gordon – Arizona State University